Wait for Baba! Wait for Daddy…ABBA!

“There are many plans in a man’s heart,
Nevertheless the Lord’s counsel—that will stand”

Proverbs 19v21

Those are the words I heard when I dropped my daughter off at her playgroup.  There was a young boy aged four, who was running towards the open gate. His father shouted, “Wait for Baba!” to prevent the young boy from going through the gate towards the road.

As he ran past me,  I ran after him to stop him from actually walking on to the road unsupervised, while we waited for his father to come who was a few steps behind me.

Fast forward to several hours later when I was thinking about the statement above, which was not lost on me as it resonated with me because that is exactly what God says to so many of us –  “Wait for Me to align everything first before you hurtle ahead.”

I know that when you are believing God for something and you hear these words, it can be a bit deflating because in our natural state we want things to happen yesterday.  However I have learnt the hard way that it is easier and more fulfilling to wait on God’s perfect timing rather than to run ahead of God and create more problems for yourself.

“He gives power to the weak, And to those who have no might He increases strength.
 Even the youths shall faint and be weary, and the young men shall utterly fall,
 but those who wait on the Lord Shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.”

Isaiah 40v29-31

I love this passage of scripture because when I close my eyes I can literally see an image of an eagle soaring in the skies…

Sometimes we try and figure things out or go ahead of God and this always results in disappointment and frustration.  When we are patient and just allow God to be God in our lives, everything comes together in a much more fluid way.

Then He got into one of the boats, which was Simon’s, and asked him to put out a little from the land. And He sat down and taught the multitudes from the boat.

 When He had stopped speaking, He said to Simon, “Launch out into the deep and let down your nets for a catch.”

 But Simon answered and said to Him, “Master, we have toiled all night and caught nothing; nevertheless at Your word I will let down the net.” And when they had done this, they caught a great number of fish, and their net was breaking. So they signaled to their partners in the other boat to come and help them. And they came and filled both the boats, so that they began to sink.  When Simon Peter saw it, he fell down at Jesus’ knees, saying, “Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord!”

 For he and all who were with him were astonished at the catch of fish which they had taken;  and so also were James and John, the sons of Zebedee, who were partners with Simon. And Jesus said to Simon, “Do not be afraid. From now on you will catch men.”  So when they had brought their boats to land, they forsook all and followed Him.”

 Luke 5v 3-11

While you are waiting for God to manifest Himself in your situation with whatever it is you need, be it wisdom, favour or clarity of instruction, you can do the following:

  • Go deeper in the Word of God – Hebrews 11v1
  • Spend more time Praising and Worshipping God just because He is God and is worthy of our praise and adoration
  • Do something special for someone else – there is so much joy in allowing God to use you to be the answer to someone else’s prayers.

God loves you and I more than we can ever fully comprehend and the truth is we can never hear those words enough.  I know for myself my faith in God took on a different meaning when I had my first baby because I was overwhelmed with how much I loved this little thing.  I could never imagine willingly sacrificing her for the greater good let alone for someone else.  Yet God did that for us.  So when He tells you to wait…wait because hey, He loves you enough to let His child Jesus die for you!

Quintessentially yours

QF Ruvimbo

Leave a Reply

