Praying isn’t an event; it’s a lifestyle!

Throne of grace

I used to think that living a prayerful life meant waking up at 4 am and praying till the day breaks, or spending hours in the church pews calling out to GOD with all sorts of complicated language. Growing up we were taught that praying is in some ways a ritual, that requires complete shutdown so you can hear get out what you need to say to GOD. I have learned from my mom, and walking with other women of faith – that being prayerful is in fact a lifestyle. It involves speaking to GOD about your wishes, what you need, your feelings, your hurts and struggles, your successes and victories at ANY TIME. There is no protocol required – just respect to your MAKER and an open and truthful heart.

Gone are the days where I wait for complete silence before I utter my “Dear GOD…” I found fulfillment in prayer and freedom in my relationship with GOD when I began to understand that GOD does not expect complication in conversation or a big praying event. HE just wants us to speak, as how we would speak to our dads or our best friends. Speak life into yours by speaking to HIM openly, at any time, without limitations. GOD wants state. He already knows what we really want to say, or are really thinking. There is no way to hide our feelings from HIM. But, the ability to lay down your truth, whether you are stuck in traffic or getting ready to visit the doctor or pick up your kid from school – is what GOD is looking for.

Don’t get me wrong. Quiet time is necessary. It is absolutely essential to make time to tap into the WORD of GOD, to pray in solitude as Jesus did often. You need this time to soak up what GOD is saying to you without the distractions of the TV bellowing in the background or that shirt you’ve been debating about buying taking you away from focusing. But as I said before, praying in itself is a lifestyle. I talk to GOD whenever and wherever. He guides me all through my day and grants me peace when making decisions – even the simple ones like which road to take on my way to work or who to speak to for the help that I need. I know HE is there so never feel lonely. As a matter of fact, this is why i enjoy my evening jogs or  moments alone – because I get to speak life into my own through my chats with GOD.

I implore you today, to take out the formality in much of your prayer life and just come to HIM. GOD has no limits to the number of times you can talk to HIM or make requests. He just wants you to operate with HIM as you would in any of your most trusted relationships.

Quintessentially Yours,

QF Yvonne

mark11.24

 

Leave a Reply

